2015 MTB League - Round 2

21 April, 2015 - 19:20
Mother-In-Law - Muddy River - Lucys Loop. 6.5k / 160m.

Well done to all who raced yesterday evening. It was great to see so many on the mountain and fantastic conditions for a race. Full set of race photos are available here courtesy of Brian Mulligan. Full results and updated league table to follow.


That's top weather for a bit of mountain bike racing on the open mountain! Round 2 of the MTB League is tonight. Sign on will take place from 6:15 - 7pm at the turn off for Lucys Loop. (Go through the barrier at the Lumpers, start climbing and you can't pass us) Race start is 7:20pm sharp. If you park at the Lumpers Pub allow yourself at least 30 minutes to reach sign up and get to the start line. Please note; Round 1 was free, it's €15 to enter the league, payment will be accepted at sign on. Good luck!



Round 2 is the first race of the season on the mountain. The course start point is at the Y junction at the Mother-In-Law.  For a list of rider numbers, they are published here. 

Course as follows:

  1. Starts at the Mother-In-Law
  2. Continue up the fire road and turn right into the Muddy River, up to and over the Stile.
  3. Continue up the track and take a right into the Castles, down the Stinger past the wooden gate and enter into Aidens Canyon.
  4. Across the river, through the wall at the end and take a right turn.
  5. Climb up towards the lake that dries up and stay left and hike your bike up the steep climb on the left.
  6. Continue on the track and down to the fenceline, hop over the fence on the right and continue on the track through the woods, exiting at the top of the Down Hill course.
  7. Turn left and then left again into the old XC Course, exiting onto the fire road turn left and head into Lucys Loop for a finsh at the bottom of the climb.

Junctions/waypoints will be clearly signposted with temporary signs or red/white tape tied to branches/grasses etc.

As always make other mountain users aware of your presence by giving ample warning and slowing down.

Obey the marshalls and listen during the race briefing for any special instructions.



Marshalls / Timekeepers for Round 2:

  1. Liam Burns
  2. Robbie Duffy
  3. Chris Rogers
  4. John Sharkey


  • 1. Ray O'Shaughnessy
  • 2. Aiden McDonald
  • 3. Brendan O'Callaghan
Many thanks to Marshall Group 2