Round 11: Fane/Ardee/Fane

22 June, 2017 - 19:00
Fane Bridge - Dunleer Roundabout - Ardee Roundabout - Fane Bridge. 43.1k.

Week 11 – Fast & Furious, simple as… With the weather forecast at a positively balmy 18 degrees, it’s likely that plenty of riders will be out cultivating razor sharp tan lines.

The route introduced in 2016 found favour with everyone for its flat profile, but what it lacks in elevation, it will make up for in speed. A credit to all groups in the league this year, but a cursory glance at averages across Strava looks like each group has increased their averages up around 2/3kph. Although this is technically classed as a “training league” for riders to get experience before going open racing, commentary from those competing at A4/3/2/1 status is that the league is harder and faster on most nights.

Crosswinds on the way out and way home on the N132, the Ardee link road is where the action will likely happen. A headwind on the way out, but a tasty 10/15kph wind on the return leg is sure to split groups before the turn for home at Dorians.

A word to riders finishing tomorrow night: Don’t forget the finish line has been moved slightly up from the actual Fane Bridge (around 250 metres). Don’t Ease Up

Also, with the likely build-up of cars behind riders, please do not stop at the finish line, but instead roll on out and continue to DKIT is you’re left your car there.

Spectators are “kindly” asked to park on the grass verge, reversing inwards. Makes things a lot easier getting out on a fast road…


Alan Bingham (+353 87 760 3487) is your lead marshal (Group 5) this week, and if you’re on duty, you should have received a text already. If you haven’t already done so, please make contact with Alan to confirm your attendance.

Sign on at DKIT, opens at 18:15 and closes at 18:45 sharp. Marshal, please try to arrive earlier than the riders to be allocated marshal locations.

Riders: Armbands and Chips all round please….

Safe riding, and see you all Thursday


Michael DunneCuchulainn CC5
Mairead HoldenCuchulainn CC5
Rosemary GibsonCuchulainn CC5
Jason McCannCuchulainn CC5
Cyril SherryCuchulainn CC5
Michael ClarkeCuchulainn CC5
Allan KennedyWhite River Wheelers CC5
Vincent LoughranCuchulainn CC5
Ciaran LynchArmagh Down CC5
Doiminic Ó BrannagáinCuchulainn CC5
Alan SheridanArdee Cycling Club5
Ruaidhrí StewartCuchulainn CC5
David FinneganCuchulainn CC5
Damian  HughesDrogheda Wheelers5
Declan McCabeCuchulainn CC5
Eamon McConveyNewry Wheelers CC5
Eamonn McKeownCuchulainn CC5
David McMahonArdee Cycling Club5
Kevin SmithCarrickmacross CC5
Kenny BagnallNewry Wheelers CC5
Richard BectonDrogheda Wheelers5
James ByrneArmagh Down CC5
Fergal CunninghamCuchulainn CC5
Brian GroganWhite River Wheelers CC5
David HollandCuchulainn CC5
Alan BinghamCuchulainn CC5
Sean FeatherstoneNewry Wheelers CC5
Alan GrayCuchulainn CC5
Richard McMullenUn-Attached Leinster5
Brian RuaneLucan Cycling Road Club5
Benny SmythArmagh Down CC5


  • Liam Dolan (6) - Race 1
  • Conor McKeown (6)
  • Barry Convery (5)
  • Jamie O'Hare (3)
  • Bryan Morris (3)
  • Peter O'Donoghue (3)
Many thanks to Marshall Group 5

Bike Station Road League 2018 - Top 5


Name Club Name Group Pts

View Full Table

Bike Station Road League 2018