Ronan Rafferty wins Round 5 of the Bike Station League

Round 5 of the Bike Station Cycling League was a 42km race, which consisted of 2 laps of the circuit used for the annual Traders Cup. Despite a glorious sunshine, numbers were a little down, however that did nothing to dampen the racing spirit.

Group 4 were the big victors on the night as they manged to both hold off the chasing packs & catch the group in front of them. This mean't that group 4 riders dominated the standings. The race came down to a large sprint as group 4 had caught group 3. As the riders jostled for positioning in the closing stages Cuchulainn rider Ronan Rafferty picked a strong position & timed his sprint perfectly to take the win & maximum points.
Behind Rafferty was Drogheda Wheelers' Gavin Byrne in second and Gary McGovern of Armagh Down in 3rd. First lady home was Catherine Sands in 15th. The race was marred somewhat by an accident in the closing kilometers. A touch of wheels saw a number of riders come down, however luckily no was hurt.
In the support race, McCartney and Lennon continue to be a dynamic duo, taking 1st & 2nd respectively ahead of Michael Fitzgerald of the IPA Cycling Club in 3rd.
Cuchulainn's good run of results in the IVCA league with Aidan Delaney taking a win in round 10 in Kentstown. In the run in to the finish Delaney was at a numerical disadvantage as Swords Cycling Club was well represented in the bunch. However Delaney held his nerve to take the top step of the podium ahead of two Swords riders. 
Off the smooth tarmacked roads the clubs mountain bikers continued with their league. After 4 rounds David O`Neil is leading on a total of 201 points. He maintains a 9 point gap over Bredndan Foley and 10 points over Caroline Martinez. Graig Clifford was the winner of the most recent round, which sees him move up to 10th in the league. In the junior league Daragh McHugh was the winner of the most recent round, however it wasn't enough to see him top the leader board. That distinction belongs to Eoin Carthy, who has been remarkable consistent taking second position in the first 3 races of the series.