Neill Delahaye wins Carrick Cycles Time Trial

Clare Ludlow of Ardee Cycling Club in action (photo courtesy of Caroline Kerley)

As 2017 drew to a close Cuchulainn Cycling Club hosted it's last event of the year, the New Year's Eve Time Trial, sponsored by long term club supporter Carrick Cycles in Carrickmacross. The 2017 edition featured an extended version of the course which debuted in 2016. This year the racing commenced at Dorians Pub and continued along the link road to the first roundabout at Ardee and back for a total distance of 14.5km.

Despite the time of year and colds that people invariably pick up, 28 riders signed on for one last hit out before the year ended, with 12 different clubs represented. The win went  to Neill Delahaye of Dublin's Fixx Rouleurs, in a time of 19:18. Neil, who was part of the successful coaching team behind Cycling Ireland's medal haul at the Rio ParaOlympics in 2016, also won the event in 2016. Second place in a time of 19:48 went to Belfast based Ian Inglis, riding for Black Rose Racing. Ian is no stranger to the discipline of time trialing and in June 2017, won the prestigious Champion of Champions 25mile TT in Ards. Rounding out the podium, 10 seconds behind Inglis, was Cuchulainn's Liam Dolan, a previous winner of the event.
Fastest lady was Claire Ludlow, riding for Ardee Cycling Club, in a time of 24:25.