Clubs Awards Night

Philip Kerley receives his Special Recognition award from Sé Weston

Friday last saw Cuchulainn Cycling Club hold its Christmas Awards Night in The Spirit Store. The night is a celebration of the club's achievements over the past 12 months and gives special recognition to those working tirelessly behind the scenes. 

Club Person of the Year is always one of the most hotly anticipated Awards, as it is giving in recognition of work done organising events and generally helping out in the club. This year the club had 2 such outstanding members that it was jointly awarded to Jason Boyle and Liam Burns. Liam was very involved in the club's off road program & was the driving force behind the club's off road league & a number of other events. Jason meanwhile is more involved in the leisure side of the club, which like the off road section, continues to go from strength to strength. The leisure event of the year is the Tour of Louth, which had in excess of 500 entrants in 2017.
The Cuchulainn Spirit Award was presented to Veronica Leiva. Vercoinca's work, as the women's rep, has been crucial in growing the membership of the club. In addition to her work on club rides, she also implemented a number of non cycling related activities that helped to grow the club's social side.
Winner's of the years leagues were recognised, with PJ Hynes taking the 9th Wave MTB League ahead of Colin McGeown & John Kane. Niamh McKiverigan was the first lady. In The Bike Station Summer Cycling League Alan Bingham succesfully defended his 2016 win, with Jamie O`Hare in 2nd &  John Loane in 3rd. Michael Treanor was the winner of race 2. The Paddy Neary Perpetual Memorial Trophy was presented, by Mrs Betty Neary, alongside Ray Fedigan of the Bike Station.
Leisure cyclists of the year awards were presented to Tony Richardson & Martin Yore for the men, while Roisin Richardson was the female leisure cyclist of 2017. Clodagh Malone was honored as the most improved female cyclist of the year, with Dale Copas taking the same award for the men. PJ Hynes & Alan Bingham were recognised as the off road & road racing cyclists of the year.
Finally on the night a special award was made to Philip Kerely, a long standing member of the club who has worked tirelessly over the years, in particular in helping to develop underage cycling.


 2017 Leisure Cyclist of the Year


Tony Richardson & Martin Yore


2017 Female Cyclist of the Year

Roisin Richardson


2017 Road Racing Cyclist of the Year

Alan Bingham

2017 Off-Road Cyclist of the Year

PJ Hynes


2017 Most Improved Male Cyclist

Dale Copas


2017 Most Improved Female Cyclist

Clodagh Malone


2017 Cuchulainn “SPIRIT” Award

Veronica Leiva


2017 Club Person of the Year

Jason Boyle &  Liam Burns


 2017 XC MTB League


Sponsored By 9th Wave

 1st – PJ Hynes


2nd – Colin McGeown

3rd – John Kane

1st Woman - Niamh McKiverigan



2017 Bike Station League

The Paddy Neary Perpetual Memorial Trophy

Presented by Mrs Betty Neary & Ray Fedigan


Group Winners

Group 1 – Gavin Rafferty

Group 2 – Richie Kieran

Group 3 – Martin Harvey

Group 4 – Shaun Paul O’Shaughnessy

Group 5 –Macdara O’Graham

Group 6 – Barry Convery


Race 1 Winner

1st – Alan Bingham

Race 2 Winner

1st – Micheal Treanor


Over-All Winner

1st – Alan Bingham

2nd – Jamie O’Hare

3rd – John Loane