Keelan takes the chequered flag in Emyvale

[[{"type":"media","view_mode":"media_large","fid":"137","attributes":{"class":"media-image aligncenter size-medium wp-image-254","typeof":"foaf:Image","style":"","width":"300","height":"140","alt":""}}]]Last weekend in the small Co. Monaghan village of Tydvanet Cuchulainn's Dermot Keelan took the first win of his cycling career. Dermot was racing in the A4 race, which was held over 4 laps of an 8 mile circuit. The race has proved a popular hunting ground for Dundalk rider's in the past with Aidan Cunningham winning here a few years back. The A4 race was fast throughout with a number of riders attempting to break away, however starting the last lap the bunch remained together. The long straight uphill finish was deceiving for a lot of rider's as to when to time their kick for the finish line. On each lap Dermot kept his eyes opened & had picked the best spot to go. Sure enough on the last lap he timed his acceleration to perfection, beating off Ryan McDermot of West Tyrone Wheelers, with enough time to raise an arm in celebration. This result will see Dermot move up to the A3 category having accumulated enough points over the course of the season so far.
In the mountain bike league the big guns were out with Alps bound Gary Shiels taking the win, powering his way from Group 5 to the head of affairs. John Sharkey decided to move from Group 2 back to 3 as he was happy with his progression & this is definitely the case as he was second home on the night. Sharkey had to work hard to hold off fast charging Group 4 members Chris Quinn in 3rd and underage sensation Aaronn McCann in 4th. Another rider showing excellent progress is Sandra O`Hagan who came home next to round out the top 5.
The third round of the Ulster Mountain Bike League moved to Lady Dixon Park on Sunday and the club picked up a number of results. In the main race Aiden McDonald took a very creditable 4th position. Meanwhile in the second category race Johhny McCabe was 2nd, only a mere 4seconds behind the winner. In the senior 3 race Cuchulainn had 3 men in the top 10 with Gary Shiels, Stephen Kelleher and Daire Mc Caughley. In the Under 16s Aaron Mc Cann took his 3rd podium of the year when he came home in 3rd place.
Round 7 of the FPM Accountants Summer Cycling League was a 10mile time trial and it was total domination for Bryan McCrystal coming home over 90seconds ahead of Gerry McCabe. Newry's Kevin Lynch rounded out the top 3. Geraldine Gill was first lady home, beating Celine McPhilips by 18seconds.
In the An Post Rás both former Cuchulainn riders Tony Brady & Derek Finnegan had great racing. Derek was 4th amateur rider overall. The race was won by Lithunia's Gediminas Bagdonas, who rides with the Irish Professional An Post Cycling Team, based in Belgium. Irish riders had a very good race, winning the last 2 stages.